By Tara

Quick to get married…

Sorry it has been so long since I have made a new post… I bought a new book on Friday, I am sure you have heard of it… Fifty Shades of Grey. This book has me possessed… I can not go five minutes without reading it, every once in a while at work I sneak a few pages in. I purposely did not go out on Friday and Saturday night, just so I can read it. (Well, John and I went to a comedy show on Saturday) but after that, I stayed home and read my book. 🙂 I can’t stop thinking about it, I even have dreams about it… I am that obsessed… and I can’t wait to buy the other two. So ladies, I recommend reading this book!

Anyways, I was having a discussion with John the other day and there is something I have to say… because it’s really bugging me. Why do couples, especially at such a young age, feel the need to get married so early? Wait, actually, I can name a few reasons… but sadly they are pathetic reasons. ONE… as I mentioned before, some get confused between lust and love, and when they’re in “lust” they automatically think, “yea, this is the one.” Let’s get married!!! …and as I mentioned, get to know each other a little bit. (lol) TWO… the girl gets pregnant so they think they HAVE to get married now. Not true. There is no written law stating if you have a baby, you have to get married to the baby mama/daddy. Besides, having a baby and getting married will not solve any problems. THREE… I see a lot of couples break up, get back together, break up, get back together, break up, get back together (again, as mentioned before) then they decide to get married. What, do you think that getting married will stop you two from fighting and splitting apart again? No. The only difference is, it will take a lot longer, and it’s not free. Not even close. FOUR… Mostly girls think this. They think that marriage will change a person… in a better way. NO, it will not. If anything it will backfire on you. A piece of paper, proving that it is legal, does not change someone’s personality. If they treat you like crap before the wedding, they will after the wedding. Please get that through your head. And FIVE… I have seen this many times, sadly… they get married for attention. I mean, I get it, wearing a big beautiful dress, walking down a beautiful aisle surrounded by all of your family and friends watching you, as you approach your fiance’ with three or four of your best friends standing at the front, with ALL of the attention on you. The entire night is yours… yes… it sounds wonderful. Something every girl dreams of… but guess what? After the big, beautiful, all-of-the-attention-on-you wedding… is a marriage, and that’s not easy… it’s a job. The rest of your life. If you want to spend all of that money on a big beautiful wedding, wouldn’t you rather do it when you are actually ready to settle down, and actually be happy the rest of your life? Amiright?

Think about it.

Leave a Reply

